Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends

Viva La Vida or Death and All His FriendsColdplay’s newest album Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends released today, June 17, 2008, in the United States.  This is the bands 4th studio album and is much different than anything they have done previously.  The album includes 10 songs equalling a total of 42 minutes all together.  The track listing is as follows:

1. Life in Technicolor
2. Cemeteries of London
3. Lost!
4. 42
5. Lovers In Japan/Reign of Love
6. Yes
7. Viva La Vida
8. Violet Hills
9. Strawberry Swing
10. Death and All His Friends

As I said before, the album is a departure from the unsual Colplay sound.  The band really looked their prevoius albums:  Parachutes, A Rush of Blood to the Head, and X&Y as a trilogy.  Viva La Vida or Death and All His Friends is all new!  I would have to say the track “Violet Hills,” the first single off the album, is the closests to the orginal Colplay sound.  The band got a lot of suff thrown at them after the release of X &Y because it sounded to much like songs from their previous albumm but for the most part fans loved it. 

I love the new sound on this album.  It’s very different some songs are darker than others, but some true ti life ballads come with this album.  The first songs on the album “Life in Technicolor” is pure instrumental, which is the first difference.  From the beginning to the end the album takes the listener on a journey.  Coldplay uses subtle North African and Latin elements and changes their structure of the song.  To borrow a line from a reviewer,
“The old Coldplay still shine through but even their classic sound feels more muscular and confident.  The band’s new flourishes, cosmetic and self-conscious as they may be, are enough to make Viva La Vida a welcome break from the old routine.” 
The album is terrific and I’ve heard many are disappointed, but love the album already and I can’t wait to listen to it again and again.  I will leave you with the video for the first single off the album, “Violet Hills.”



Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s