I survived the Whitewater River!

So today was my Geology 101 field trip to Brookeville, Indiana.  It seemed like a long day, because I started off by getting up at 6 this morning.  I don’t think I will ever get use to getting up early, that’s just stupid.  I still seem to be having a hard time getting to sleep at night, it took me about 2 hours last night.  Anyways, I got ready and shoved off to my TCOM 204 class.  I stayed went for a half an hour, we didn’t really do anything but I want to try and make the best impression on that professor I can.  I mean, he seems to like me, I just have my problems with him. 

I met up with Bryce and then we headed for the bus.  They ended up taking 3 bus loads, and it was a long 2 hour ride and very uncomfortable.  We got there and we got our instructions, got in our canoe, and paddled off.  The first station was about 20 minutes away, we were to roam free and just get to stations whenever.  We got to the first one, got on shore and they gave their little speech.  The we headed for the next station, it was about 10 or 15 mintues away.  Get back on shore and listen to another speech and then off to the next station.  It tooks us about 45 minutes or so to reach that one.  Final speech and then we had to head to the closing post.  It took us about 20 minutes to get there.  We got to shore and unloaded our stuff.  We could see farther down the river and there was a cow getting a drink.  He must of got lose or something.  Anyways we then took a little quiz and then waited for about an hour and a half and then came back to Muncie.  I made it back just before my Health class started. 

It was a long day, but not bad.  Bryce and I did not tip the canoe, which is good.  We got stuck in some shallow parts, but we just pushed our way out.  I got some sun, which was fine by me.  I don’t mind getting a little red, it gives me color.  So all and all I would say we canoed about 6 miles at least.  We got a t-shirt, I may never wear it.  It says geology 101 on it and it has a map of the river on the back, kind of nerdy.  So I can now say I survived the Whitewater River!  Side note, I should sleep better tonight, maybe I need to do this every day!

Mason      

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

